What is CFA?

Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) is a globally esteemed designation given by the CFA Institute. Candidates study areas such as economics, ethics, security analysis, ethics, and accounting and are required to clear three levels. 

CFA Structure

The CFA program is divided into three levels - I, II, and III. The three exams can be attempted once a year in June except for level I which can be attempted in December as well. 

Each exam ideally requires study for over 300 hours. The exams can be attempted many times. Although, considering the preparation time required many students withdraw after 1-2 failed attempts. To get a charter, candidates must clear all the levels and must hold 4 years of work experience in investment decision-making. 

Why Should You Pursue CFA?

Global Recognition:  CFA is one of the most recognized and revered investment credentials in the world with over 60 years of legacy. 

Job Prospects at Top Investment Firms: The program focuses on several investment areas such as financial modeling, portfolio management, etc. Leading investment firms, hedge funds, asset management prefer charter holders as opposed to other candidates in similar fields. 

Delivers Practical, Real-World Skills: The charter is conferred after the completion of 4 years of professional experience which means the institute promotes practical skills. The curriculum too is designed in a way that helps you tackle real-world scenarios in an effective way.

Exposure to a Variety of Roles in Finance: The Program isn’t just limited to investment banking and equity research, but plenty of other profiles as well. CFA charter holders are the first preference for many fintech, foreign exchange, alternative investments, etc. 

Equipped for Decision-Making: It enables candidates to be adept at decision making by incorporating reasoning and judgment abilities.

The Choicest Option for CAs: Pursuing CFA after CA opens new pathways for CA candidates in the field of finance on the global front. Those who have completed CA can easily clear level I of the CFA program. The majority of the CA syllabus is almost similar to that of the CFA level I. Hence, it can be deemed as an added advantage of doing CFA after CA. 

Requirements to Become CFA

In order to get a charter, a candidate must meet at least one of the mentioned requirements - Four years of professional experience, have a bachelor’s degree, or in the final year, or a combination of work experience and education that comes up to 4 years. In the case of undergraduate students, the bachelor’s program must be completed before signing up for level II. Further, a candidate must have an international passport, complete the assessment in English, fit in the admission criteria, and be in a participating country. 

Given the benefits, it is advisable to pursue CFA. Lecturewala provides CFA study material online from the most qualified professors in town. The CFA study material online is easy and helps students understand complex theories well. Do refer to our range of products. 

Please select option to continue.